The Permissions page allows configuring permissions for various actions that users can perform with the app.
The page contains three groups of permissions:
-
Comment Templates Permissions
-
Groups Permissions
Permission page is available only for Jira administrators.
To open a Permission page:
-
Click on Apps on the navigation bar.
-
Click on Manage your apps.
-
Click the Smart Comments item in the left sidebar.
-
Click the Permissions item
The permissions are set by default as it is displayed in the screenshot above.
Edit Permissions
Go to the Smart Issue Templates Permissions page:
-
Click the Edit Permissions button in the top right corner of the page.
-
Start typing the username or the group name in the Add user or Add group fields of the specific permissions group.
-
After selecting the username or a group it will appear in the Grant to the column.
-
Click the Save changes button to apply changes.
Permissions Dialog
Permission Dialog can contain four options depending on permission.
|
Option |
Description |
|---|---|
|
Anyone |
Any user can perform this action |
|
Groups |
Users in the listed groups can perform this action |
|
Users |
Selected users can perform this action |
|
Owner* |
The owner of the Template/Scope/Hierarchy can perform this action |
*Owner - Always present in permissions - cannot be removed.
To mange groups or lists of users, you should have Browse Users Jira Permission
Comment Template Permissions
Create - the user that has this permission can create new Templates.
Edit - the user that has this permission can edit Templates that are available for him in Jira.
Delete - the user that has this permission can delete Templates that are available for him in Jira.
Group Permissions
Create - the user that has this permission can create new Groups.
Edit - the user that has this permission can edit any available Group.
Delete - the user that has this permission can delete any available Group.
There are three permission conditions:
:Permission_ON: - current permission is enabled for the user/group in the row
:Permission_OFF: - current permission is disabled for the user/group in the row
:Permission_NOT_ALLOWED: - current permission can’t be set for the user/group in the row
For example in this case:
-
John Doe is a member of a jira-software-users group, but he has his own permissions granted: he is not able to create templates, but can edit every template that is created. He is able to delete only templates he is the owner of.
-
Members of the jira-software-users group (except John Doe) can create templates, but ‘Edit’, and ‘Delete’, actions are available only for templates every user of this group is the owner of.
-
Members of the jira-administrators group can create templates and can edit, and delete every template that is created.
-
The ability to apply templates can’t be changed, so it is available for everyone.
Restore Default Permissions
To restore Default Permissions go to the Templates Permissions page:
-
Click on Apps on the navigation bar.
-
Click on Manage your apps.
-
Find a Templates Permissions item in the left sidebar and click it.
-
Click the Restore default button in the top right corner of the page.
-
Click the Confirm button on the Restore default permissions dialog.